Peeps, Peep This!

A Lap-Band to Duodenal Switch, Weight Loss Surgery, Chronicle

Weight Loss Surgery Solves Life's Problems? February 13, 2010

Filed under: Life — weestepn @ 12:11 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

“If only I could lose the weight my life would fall into place!” Have you ever said that? I know I sure have. I’ve heard many others say it as well. They feel as if their weight is the reason they don’t have a man, a better paying job (or 1 at all), friends, etc.

Well, I’m here to tell you, it’s not that simple. I’ve lost nearly all my excess weight and I am still so fraught with problems that make me miserable it’s crazy. So much for the weight issue solving everything. This is the second time even that I have lost weight (with the Lap Band in 2007) and even then I was still just as stressed about life.

I won’t turn this into a bitch session but I will say I’m stressed about bills. I’ve lost a large chunk of my income which is making things tough and my bills have been out of control. Not things I’m going and buying but like my Consumer’s bill was $400 more this month. That kind of increase causes a person to have to adjust other things in the budget; it’s like Dominos inside my budget. Everything affects everything.

On top of that, I put myself out in every possible way to develop professionally, network, get educated (finishing up a masters in education) and can’t seem to get a break to advance and make more money. I’m almost done with my masters degree and worry about my student loans kicking in when I’m not making enough money to take on the payments. So I wonder, “do I keep going to school to keep my loans from going into repayment with hopes of making more money later?” or “do I just call it good, sell some stuff and stroke the payment?”

The situation is frustrating because I feel like I’m trying and trying in every way possible (I work a full-time and part-time job, go to school full-time for 6 years now and work on this blog as well plus I live an hr away from work so I have tons of road time) and I don’t seem to be reaping any of the benefits for my hard work yet. I’m trying to stay positive but after all these years I must be honest when I say I’m worn thin and very tired.

Anyway, the point of my long, wimpering post is to say that if you think solving your weight issues will make your life peachy I truly hope that’s correct but in my experience it is not the case. It will improve your health though which is important. Hopefully it’ll add years to your life; years you can spend stressing over all the screwed up things in it. šŸ™‚

~Mandy

 

2 Responses to “Weight Loss Surgery Solves Life's Problems?”

  1. Berrigirl Says:

    Your right, losing weight never solves your problem…Sometimes I believe it can create more…

    Don’t give up on your education, we need people like you and look how far you have come and the years you have invested…It will pay off in the long run, it might not seem like it will, but it will…

    Your a wonderful person and thank you for sharing your struggles with us..

    Berrigirl

  2. […] Read more from the original source: Weight Loss Surgery Solves Life's Problems? | Peeps, Peep This! […]


Leave a comment